藝術科技與 NFT

 

MUNG 熱愛藝術和娛樂行業,深知藝術在我們社會中的重要性。

縱觀歷史,藝術幫助重新定義了人類生活並挑戰技術以增強藝術靈感。今天,藝術融入了我們周圍的技術。社交媒體平台包含許多圖片 

 

多年來,像賓斯基和電影這樣的街頭藝術挑戰了技術,通過動畫和 CGI 的發展來改善娛樂性。隨著時間的推移,電影製作人不斷挑戰技術,為觀眾提供更好的藝術產品供他們欣賞。 《阿凡達》和《玩具總動員》等電影讓觀眾想要更多,藝術技術循環仍在繼續。  MUNG 認識到不僅需要保護技術 IP,還需要保護藝術 IP。

 

這就是為什麼 MUNG 致力於:

保護挑戰技術的藝術和激發藝術的技術。
無論您是畫家、音樂家還是平面設計師,MUNG 都擁有保護您的藝術知識產權所需的技能。
  MUNG 可以幫助您解決版權、商標、專利或業務問題,並將與每個客戶合作,創建量身定制且價格合理的套餐。  

NFT

隨著我們進入一個新的數字時代,加密貨幣和更廣泛的數字資產行業的鼓聲仍在繼續,隨之而來的是非同質代幣 (NFT) 的普及。在撰寫本文之前的一個月內,總計超過 2.08 億美元1  與 2020 年全年的 NFT 交易總量為 2.5 億美元相比,基於 NFT 的藝術品被售出(在初級和二級銷售中)。此外,創作者正在利用 NFT 產生將數字創意作品和其他體驗貨幣化的新方法,作為音樂樂隊,萊昂國王樂隊在發行限量版 NFT 的新專輯時取得了成功,其中六個 NFT 提供樂隊演出前排座位的終身門票。

 

此外,我們正在見證創作者經歷了一個令人難以置信的銷售數字的新時代,比如被稱為 Beeple 的藝術家,他以 6900 萬美元的價格出售了代表拼貼畫的 NFT。在這次 NFT 拍賣之前,Beeple 以 100 美元的低價出售了他的藝術品。本文探討了 NFT 及其底層技術背後的一些法律問題。

 

NFT 在數字創意作品中的實用性以區塊鍊為前提。區塊鍊是永久性的、不可更改的數字分類賬,用於在計算機代碼的“塊”中記錄交易,這些“塊”帶有時間戳並鏈接在一起,證明了數字資產的來源。區塊鏈還可以作為去中心化網絡,透明地揭示交易歷史數字資產,使得記錄的數字資產無法被盜版、修改或刪除。在區塊鏈生態系統中,可以在兩方之間進行數字轉移的資產通常被稱為“代幣”,代幣可以被分配特定的用途和屬性。比特幣或其他加密貨幣代幣是相同的,並且可以很容易地交換等價(即,它們是可互換的)。另一方面,NFT 包含一個唯一的識別代碼和元數據,可以將一個 NFT 與其他任何 NFT 區分開來,並代表區塊鏈上無法複製的項目。例如,像比特幣這樣的加密貨幣可以在交易中用另一個比特幣代替,而不會損失交易雙方的價值或屬性,就像一美元可以代替任何美元一樣。因為 NFT 包含將其與其他所有 NFT 區分開來的數據,所以它是不可替代的;相反,它是一種獨一無二的資產,就像音樂會特定座位的門票一樣。此外,NFT 由“智能合約”形式的軟件代碼組成,可以精心製作,為 NFT 創造者提供顯著利益。智能合約是開源的區塊鏈協議,在特定條件下直接控制各方之間的數字貨幣或資產轉移條款和條件。為了說明,代碼可以詳細說明購買者使用 NFT 的限制,提供轉售交易的自動特許權使用費,並證明所有權。編寫智能合約的代碼後,它會被永久鑄造成為區塊鏈上的代幣,例如 Etherium,作為數字創意作品的不可複制的數字所有權證書。此外,這項技術為創作者更好地控制價值和條件奠定了基礎。銷售他們的數字創意作品,並創建新的藝術、表演訪問或其他有價值的財產的分銷渠道。

 

在最近 NFT 的使用激增之前,創作者面臨著他們可以從他們的數字創意作品中獲得的收入的限制,因為複製品可以很容易地無限次製作並在整個互聯網上分發而不會降低質量,這已經從歷史上看,創作者很難將他們的數字創意作品貨幣化。然而,NFT 使創作者能夠生成獨特且有限的數字創意作品的代幣化版本並將此類資產商品化,同時確保數字創意作品不會被偽造並且該作品在網上仍然稀缺。例如,NFT 創作者可以設置銷售價格和可以出售的數字創意作品的最大副本數量。這使得 NFT 創建者能夠延續其資產的稀缺性,並人為地增加 NFT 在初始市場和轉售市場中的價值,類似於由於其排他性和印刷數量有限而價值增長的石版畫。此外,由於 NFT 無法複製,NFT 可以使創作者免於與盜版相關的損失。最後,由於 NFT 可以在任何 NFT 市場或點對點上銷售,無需中介,而不是僅限於使用第三方平台,因此 NFT 提供了比傳統銷售模式更容易轉移數字創意資產的便利分發內容。

 

雖然與 NFT 相關的興奮在全球範圍內呈指數級增長,但 NFT 的法律待遇仍在繼續發展並且尚未解決。 MUNG 為我們的客戶提供有關 NFT 和藝術技術的合規性、設置和不斷發展的問題的法律和公司建議。

Art-Tech & NFT

 

MUNG loves the arts & entertainment industries and knows the importance of the arts in our society.

Throughout history art has helped redefine human lives and challenge technology to enhance inspiration for art. Today art is incorporated in technology all around us. Social Media platforms contain many pictures  

 

Over the years, street arts like those from Binski and movies have challenged technology to improve entertainment through development of animation and CGI. Over time, movie makers have challenged the tech to give their audience a better artistic product for them to enjoy. Movies like Avatar and Toy Story have left viewers wanting more and the art-tech cycle continues.  MUNG recognizes that not only does the technology IP need to be protected but also the art IP.

 

This is why MUNG is devoted to:

Protecting Art that Challenges Tech and Tech that Inspires the Arts.
Whether you are a painter, musician, or graphic designer, MUNG has the skills you need to protect your art intellectual property.  MUNG can help guide you through your copyright, trademark, patent, or business matters and will work with each client to create a tailored and affordable package. 

NFT

As we progress into a new digital era, the beat of the drum of the cryptocurrency and broader digital asset industry continues and, with it, has come the rise in popularity non-fungible tokens (NFTs). In the month leading up to the writing of this article, a total of more than $208 million1  of NFT-based artwork was sold (in primary and secondary sales), as compared to the $250 million of total NFT volume traded in all of 2020. In addition, creators are utilizing NFTs to generate novel methods of monetizing digital creative works and other experiences, as the music band, the Kings of Leon, accomplished when it released its new album as a limited edition NFT, with six NFTs providing lifetime tickets to front row seats for the band’s shows.

 

Further, we are witnessing creators experience a new era of incredible sales figures, like the artist known as Beeple, who sold an NFT representing a collage for $69 million. Prior to this NFT sale, Beeple had sold his art for as little at $100. This article explores some of the legal issues behind NFTs and their underlying technology.

 

The utility of NFTs for digital creative works is premised on blockchains. Blockchains are permanent, unchangeable digital ledgers that are used to record transactions in "blocks” of computer code that are time stamped and linked together, demonstrating the provenance of a digital asset. Blockchains also function as decentralized networks that transparently reveal the history of transactions for digital assets, making it impossible for recorded digital assets to be pirated, modified, or deleted. Assets that are digitally transferrable between two parties in the blockchain ecosystem are commonly referred to as "tokens,” and tokens can be assigned specific uses and properties. Bitcoin or other cryptocurrency tokens are identical and are readily exchangeable for equal value (i.e., they are fungible). An NFT, on the other hand, contains a unique identification code and metadata that distinguishes one NFT from any other, and represents items on the blockchain that cannot be replicated. For example, a cryptocurrency like a Bitcoin can be substituted in a transaction with another Bitcoin without a loss of value or change in attributes for the transaction parties, much like one US dollar can be substituted for any US dollar. Because an NFT contains data that distinguishes it from every other NFT, it is non-fungible; rather, it is a one-of-a-kind asset, like a ticket for a specific seat at a concert. Moreover, NFTs are composed of software code in the form of "smart contracts” that can be crafted to provide significant benefits to NFT creators. Smart contracts are open-sourced blockchain protocols that directly control the transfer of digital currencies or assets between parties under certain terms and conditions. To illustrate, the code could detail limitations on the use of the NFT by a purchaser, provide for automatic royalty payments from resale transactions, and prove ownership. After the code for the smart contract is written, it is then permanently minted into a token on a blockchain, such as Etherium, where it will serve as a non-replicable digital certificate of ownership of a digital creative work. Additionally, this technology lays the foundation for creators to have more control over the value and the conditions of the sale of their digital creative works and create new distribution channels of art, performance access, or other valuable property.

 

Prior to the recent surge in the use of NFTs, creators faced limitations on the revenue that they could generate from their digital creative works because copies could be easily made an infinite number of times and distributed throughout the internet with no degradation of quality, which has historically made it difficult for creators to monetize their digital creative works. However, NFTs make it possible for creators to generate unique and finite tokenized versions of digital creative works and to commodify such assets, while ensuring that the digital creative work cannot be counterfeited and that the work remains scarce online. For example, NFT creators can set both the sales price and the maximum number of replicas of the digital creative work that can be sold. This allows the NFT creator to perpetuate the scarcity of their asset and artificially increase the NFT’s value in the initial market as well as the resale market, similar to a lithograph that grows in value because of its exclusivity and limited number of prints. Also, NFTs can spare creators from losses related to piracy since NFTs cannot be replicated. Finally, NFTs provide for the improved ease of transferring digital creative assets over traditional sales models since NFTs can be sold on any NFT market or peer to peer, without the need for an intermediary, rather than being restricted to the use of third-party platforms to distribute content.

 

While the excitement relating to NFTs is growing exponentially and on a global level, the legal treatment of NFTs continues to evolve and is unsettled. MUNG provides legal and corporate advice for compliance, set-ups and evolving issues concerning NFTs and art-tech for our clients.